While the sunny weather continues …

… I went out and washed down the Eglu. But the wind was brisk so I didn’t do much more! We’ve not been completely happy with the Eglu Go … the door sometimes comes apart and the base panels don’t stay in place. And when cleaning, I can’t get to the run side of the coop wall to wash it down. If I tip the whole thing up on its side, I’m concerned I may bend the skirt of the run.

But it’s done as far as it’s going to be done. And still the weather holds …

I made enquiries about woodchip this morning, and my usual supplier (the city council) has none available. So I’ve contacted a local tree surgeon who advertises woodchip and logs for sale (less expensive than from the council, too) so we’ll see … we’ve still no idea of a time scale for the arrival of our new girls, but at the earliest I suppose they could arrive at the weekend?

I’ll certainly let you know!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • The Hen House Archive

    Our original hen keeping adventure came to an end in January 2013, when a fox took our entire brood of hens. But don’t let that put you off … you can find the story at The Hen House Archive where there are still lots of stories, photos, and information about keeping hens I hope you'll find useful.
  • HEN NEWS LATEST

    March 2017 ... All change in the hen garden as the fruit cage run is retired in favour of an electric fence, the veg beds are relocated to put the hens on fresh ground, and the new girls arrive, Dorcas, Delilah and Deanna.

    January 2017 ... Bird flu outbreak and all domestic foul are quarantined until the end of February.

  • Hen Pics

  • Hen Topics

  • Hen Archive

  • Hen Visitors

    • 19,902 clucks
  • Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 198 other followers