Pest control

The new coop arrived already! I’m very pleased with the service, and with the design … it was very easy to put together. As it’s a wooden coop, I’m paranoid about avoiding red mite, so as soon as I’d completed it I painted it all over the inside with Diatom. I’ve read somewhere about making it into a paste with water and a dash of washing up liquid, so I added the ingredients to a jar and simply shook it to make a paste rather like gloss paint. Easy. It dries to a pale grey so isn’t too unsightly. The other idea I’ve used before is to spray the coop with a household flea spray from time to time, so I’ll do that too!

I’ve still to paint the outside of the coop as weather protection – I have plenty of the green wood stain left, so it will match the Moppet House. I ran out of time today, and I’ve yet to remove the panel of mesh, but I did replace the string stays for the hatch with chain. I think when I put the coop in place, I’ll leave the hutch and nest box in the run for a couple of days for them to get used to it being there. I need to find a way to secure the coop to the run and to close off the gap created by the overhang of the roof …

While I was at the DIY store, I looked around for a solution to the hatch … I found some 6mm external ply which would be ideal. I’m happy with the ragged corrugated polycarbonate for now, but at least I have a solution in mind if it becomes a problem.

You’re probably fed up reading about my efforts at DIY … I’m planning to work on the finishing touches tomorrow, so while I’m in the garden I’ll take some more photos of the B Team and bring you up to date with their progress :)

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Never tire of the DIY, always helpful for us all when trying to improve. I could do with a bit of guiding right now. If you could take a moment to look at my blog, (sorry to ask) but I am at the teetering moment and desperate for help to make a decision. Any input would be so welcomed. I am struggling to get to the right decision.

    I saw your moppets in the flesh today at the farm we visited and they were so cute but I am sticking to my no feathered feet rule. I actually told the farmer lady that I knew a friend with these “moppets” as we call them and said I couldn’t look at them without calling them moppets. I am sure she “quite rightly” thought I was a bit nuts! Chicken madness has it’s hold. I have become a crazy chicken lady! You must shoulder a small part of the blame!

    Reply
    • What decision do you mean Carol – to have or not to have the bantams? Don’t ask me … we were only ever going to have four hens!

      Do read round the chicken forums etc for ideas how to integrate them … everyone has their own method – if you read them all, you’ll soon know what will work for you 🙂

      Have fun x

      Reply
  2. That’s what I was going to say. Not tired. Glad to hear how you do pest control.
    Have a blessed weekend! ♥

    Reply
  3. I was trying to decide if it was the right the thing to do and if so how many? Any way have mulled it over and have made a decision. I have decided to go for the two bantam vorwerks, the lady only had two so I have called her and reserved them. We are going to collect them next Friday and as it’s a bank holiday weekend we will have extra time with them to keep an eye on everything. I am excited and nervous, about to rock the girls world and mine!

    Reply
    • I really like the look of the Vorwerk … but we’re full with ex-batts and bantams for now. So another time … 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • The Hen House Archive

    Our original hen keeping adventure came to an end in January 2013, when a fox took our entire brood of hens. But don’t let that put you off … you can find the story at The Hen House Archive where there are still lots of stories, photos, and information about keeping hens I hope you'll find useful.
  • HEN NEWS LATEST

    March 2017 ... All change in the hen garden as the fruit cage run is retired in favour of an electric fence, the veg beds are relocated to put the hens on fresh ground, and the new girls arrive, Dorcas, Delilah and Deanna.

    January 2017 ... Bird flu outbreak and all domestic foul are quarantined until the end of February.

  • Hen Pics

  • Hen Topics

  • Hen Archive

  • Hen Visitors

    • 19,784 clucks
  • Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 199 other followers