Final finishing touches

For comparison, here are two of today’s bantam eggs …

IMG_6106

… weighing in at 32g and 47g!

I really thought I’d finished The Moppet House … and then I realised I could add just one more access panel, by cutting down an old frame I’d built for something else. It’s the essence of small holding that everything can be reused and recycled. I love making use of the things I find around the place, all the odds and ends of stuff I keep ‘just in case’. I suppose it means I feel justified in hoarding them?

IMG_6065

When I’d finished the door, I noticed some slatted panels I’d rescued from an old cold frame/mini greenhouse that someone had passed on to us, that has since been taken apart and is waiting to go to the tip. I didn’t have any fencing left to put an enclosure round The Moppet House, but I did have a couple of off cuts of timber from the cut down frame that I could use … so I put them together, with a length of chicken wire …

IMG_6119

IMG_6120

It’s not very strong or secure, but it will do as a temporary measure, and will fit either side of The Moppet House in two different positions, so they can have some fresh grass from time to time. It didn’t take them long to find it …

IMG_6117

I’ve only just noticed Oscar there in the background!

IMG_6118

I’ve now removed the hutch, and repositioned the nest box right by the ramp to the coop … I meant to put a torch in the coop tonight, to help them find their way to bed, but I forgot :blush: I wonder if they’ll all crowd into the nest box?!

IMG_6108

IMG_6110

They’ll be glad of some peace and quiet for a few days!

eta – I checked just before I went to bed (late) and two Moppets were on the back perch, and two were in the nest box. I assumed that three were in the nest box in the run … but this morning, there are droppings along the length of the rear perch. Did others join them? Or do they shuffle around during the night?!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • The Hen House Archive

    Our original hen keeping adventure came to an end in January 2013, when a fox took our entire brood of hens. But don’t let that put you off … you can find the story at The Hen House Archive where there are still lots of stories, photos, and information about keeping hens I hope you'll find useful.
  • HEN NEWS LATEST

    March 2017 ... All change in the hen garden as the fruit cage run is retired in favour of an electric fence, the veg beds are relocated to put the hens on fresh ground, and the new girls arrive, Dorcas, Delilah and Deanna.

    January 2017 ... Bird flu outbreak and all domestic foul are quarantined until the end of February.

  • Hen Pics

  • Hen Topics

  • Hen Archive

  • Hen Visitors

    • 20,077 clucks
  • Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 199 other followers