Another moult?

This is what I found in the litter tray under the bantams this morning …

IMG_7179

There were none there yesterday … so someone is moulting. But can you tell which one?

IMG_7181

I can’t! I’m not sure they all know whether they are broody or not just now … each morning I find them all in the coop, but today four of them were on the perches and not in the nest box – what’s going on? They all left in a flurry, but under their own steam, whereas I usually have to lift them out. So I didn’t see who created the cloud of feathers as they went :533:

I may also have detected a spot of blood on one of the perches, but I haven’t been able to examine each of them as yet – I’m on my own at the moment and the shortcoming of a low run is that I can’t easily reach them. So tomorrow morning, I’ll shut them in the coop and lift them out one by one to see if I can find any more problems with their feet.

I found a spot of blood on an egg from the Vicarage girls, too … another prolapse? Again, I can’t see any evidence … and a few of them have bare behinds which make it easier to spot …

IMG_7190

That’s Milly … still with no tail feathers. Bertha’s feathers have regrown, mostly, but her comb is rather pale, so I suspect she is still not laying. We’re averaging 3-4 eggs a day, including a softie most days. Another hen with a pale comb is Babs … and the two of them are right at the bottom of the pecking order. As I look through all my photos, there are only ever five hens to be seen, usually because Bertha has chosen to be elsewhere to avoid the pecking.

IMG_7194

There is still plenty of grass, but when I first let them out in the morning, Bertha heads instead for the composter! But she can usually get in on the act somehow …

IMG_7195

A few days ago I gave them the last of the hard peck blocks, and initially five of the girls shared a bowl …

Watch as the pecking order reasserts itself over the initial rush to the treats bowl (you just catch a glimpse of Bertha as the video opens) … so I separated them to give the B team a chance …

IMG_7174

That’s Bertha, with her beak open … still straggly, but quite a transformation from a few weeks ago!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • The Hen House Archive

    Our original hen keeping adventure came to an end in January 2013, when a fox took our entire brood of hens. But don’t let that put you off … you can find the story at The Hen House Archive where there are still lots of stories, photos, and information about keeping hens I hope you'll find useful.
  • HEN NEWS LATEST

    March 2017 ... All change in the hen garden as the fruit cage run is retired in favour of an electric fence, the veg beds are relocated to put the hens on fresh ground, and the new girls arrive, Dorcas, Delilah and Deanna.

    January 2017 ... Bird flu outbreak and all domestic foul are quarantined until the end of February.

  • Hen Pics

  • Hen Topics

  • Hen Archive

  • Hen Visitors

    • 20,077 clucks
  • Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 199 other followers